Gibitngil Island: Jumper

I wish you would step back from that ledge my friend

Jumper

Funtastic Gibitngil Island in Medellin, Cebu

NAH… IT’S TOO MUCH FUN!

I’ve been climbing things for as long as I can remember. It started perhaps with my love for aratiles (Muntingia fruit), the gummy bears for an unsophisticated ’90s kid. Its fruit so tender that you don’t just shake those little things off the tree, else you get bruised ones. I’ve been climbing trees ever since.

I also got to climb over gate fences in times of need. Like whenever I was locked out ‘coz I was still playing in the streets past six in the evening.

Then the emo trips for the teenage soul happened. I discovered that our water tank provided access to our rooftop – a place designed for teenage ruminations and stare-offs with neighborhood stray cats.

Sorry, no Dawson and Joey climb into my room story to tell here.

Suffice to say, I like heights. That empty space of air between you and the ground that turns your gut into goo.

Only now, I climb stuff just for the sheer pleasure of it. And with the intention of jumping off, where it is applicable. And safe. (?)

So anyway, if you are a heights thrill seeker like me, and you happen to be in Bantayan area in Northern Cebu, it may be worth your while to pay the municipality of Medellin a quick visit.

Zip all you can in Caputatan!

Fresh from our Bantayan Island adventure, my cousins and I took a side trip to Medellin. It’s a municipality popular among Cebuano tourists for its eco-adventure offerings. In the small barangay of Caputatan Norte lies the municipal government-owned adventure park. It is hidden away in  a vast landscape of rolling hills and sugarcane plantations. You need to arrange for a special trip to get there.

Medellin: The Sugarcane Bowl of Cebu

Medellin: The Sugarcane Bowl of Cebu

The breathtaking view from the top.

And I think to myself, what a wonderful world...

And I think to myself, what a wonderful world…

There are two zip adventures offered here. So cheap that you can go for it as many times you want until you become desensitized to heights. As always, there’s the zip line staple at Php 50 per ride. Yes, that’s right. You’re seeing just one zero there. Seriously.

Belting out my best Tarzan Yell.

This deserves a Tarzan Yell.

But what really got me excited was the Tarzan Jump. Only for Php 25!

Tarzan jump is basically a huge swing on a harness. The horizontal bars are introduced as an additional safety feature. Personally, I would’ve wanted a full-on Tarzan stance swing. But yeah, yeah… safety first.

The view you get while on this “swing” is just amazing. The sky that afternoon was intensely blue and the clouds were just-right chubby. So when you hit that moment during the swing where your back is to the ground and all you see is the sky….

AAAAHHH!!!

Funtastic Gibitngil Island

Off the coast of Kawit, Medellin is Gibitngil Island. It’s about 15-20 minutes boat ride, which you can arrange with local fishermen for Php 800-1,000, depending on how hard you bargain. To give you an idea how close Medellin is to Bantayan Island, you can already see Bantayan on the west coast of Gibitngil Island.

Gibitngil, or the “FUNtastic Island” of Medellin, is another adventure destination. It’s got a more interesting zip line ride and my favorite, cliff jumping – from heights of 15ft, 20ft, and 30ft. If pressed for time and desperate to jump like me, make sure to schedule your trip here during high tide. For obvious reasons.

As for me, I was only able to jump from the 20ft platform because it was still low tide then. Boo-hoo!

You can do this Spiderman style.

You can do this Spiderman style.

So there, just jump with both feet in!

***

Medellin Travel Notes:

Getting there:

From Bantayan Island, ride the ferry back to Hagnaya Port. From the port, ride a tricycle to Bogo. Ask the driver to drop you off at a tricycle station where you ride another one that will take you to Kawit, Medellin. This is where most of the resorts are located, and also the jump off point to Gibitngil Island.

But wait, some local in Medellin told us that there are boats that take people from Bantayan Island directly to Kawit. I’m not so sure of this as I haven’t read anything about it on the web. It’s worth a try asking around though if you happen to be in Bantayan. Saves you time, maybe.

From Cebu City, at the North Bus Terminal, ride any bus with via Kawit route and you’re all good.

Where to stay:

We stayed at Seahorse Tourist Inn. But really, you can just go without reservation and look around for the type of accommodation that best fits your taste and budget.

One response to “Gibitngil Island: Jumper

  1. Pingback: Bookends | her wanders & wonders·

Leave a Reply

